Our Leadership


Reverend Dr. Clyde D. Carnegie 
Pastor Emeritus
March 2010 to May 2023

Pastor Carnegie was a member of Friendship Baptist Church for more than 55 years and served as associate minister for 36 years.  He became Pastor of Friendship in 2010 after serving many years as the senior associate minister. Before retiring, he served as a tenured administrator in the Lansing Public Schools.  Pastor Carnegie received his heavenly reward on May 11, 2023.
 Full Biography

Reverend James Douglas
Interim Pastor 
June 2023

Reverend James Douglas has served Friendship for 35 years as an associate minister. He now serves as the Interim Pastor after serving as senior associate minister under the leadership of Pastor Carnegie. 

Reverend Samuel Johnson
Senior Associate Minister
June 2023

Reverend Samuel Johnson had been a member of Friendship for many years before being called to the ministry in 2010. He has been a board member for community-based organizations that serve youth and has responsibility for pulpit oversight of youth ministries. 
He shares pulpit leadership at the call of Interim Pastor Douglas. 


Deacon James Yarborough, 
Deacon Robert Owens, 
      Vice Chairperson 
Deacon Lee Alexander 
Deacon Amel Eiland
Deacon/Trustee Dr. Lonnie Eiland 
Deacon Adell Flourry, Jr.
Deacon Larry Griffin 
Deacon George Maki 
Deacon Jerry McIntyre
Deacon Dr. Eugene Pernell
Deacon/Trustee Donald Suttles 
Deacon Julian VanDyke 
Deacon/Trustee Karl Wilson


Deacon/Trustee Donald Suttles,  
Trustee Algie Watkins, 
Trustee Tommie Culpepper
Trustee David Duke
Deacon/Trustee Dr. Lonnie Eiland 
Trustee Theo Fulwiley
Trustee Dr. David Green
 Trustee Albert Henry 
Trustee Jokay Maxie
Trustee Deborah Sudduth 
Deacon/Trustee  Karl Wilson 
Trustee Xavier Yarborough

Deaconess Board 

Deaconess Sallie Flanders, 
Deaconess Pearl Welch,
Deaconess Cynthia Carnegie 
Deaconess  Zeferonia Demps 
Deaconess  Marsie Douglas 
Deaconess Roslin Griffin 
Deaconess Terry Johnson 
Deaconess Diane Owens

Financial Officers

Financial Secretary:
Deaconess  Marsie Douglas 
Assistant: Brother Jeff Champion

Deaconess Roslin Griffin 
Assistant: Trustee Jokay Maxie 

Recording Officers

Church Clerk:
Sister Cheryl Howell
Assistant: Sister Edith Suttles

Announcement Clerk:
Sister Rise Alexander
Assistant: Trustee Deborah Sudduth

Friendship Baptist Church, 2912 Pleasant Grove Road, Lansing, Michigan, 48910, 517-394-6369

© Copyright 2024. All rights reserved. 

We need your consent to load the translations

We use a third-party service to translate the website content that may collect data about your activity. Please review the details in the privacy policy and accept the service to view the translations.